Fall Protection Standards

NATE wants to make all industry professionals and workers aware of the standards and compliance directives that govern fall protection. 100% tie-off is the law and these standards must be adhered to at all times by personnel working on a tower site in order to ensure the safety and welfare of the industry workforce.


OSHA 29 CFR 1926, Subpart M – Fall Protection, §1926.500

This subpart sets forth requirements and criteria for fall protection in construction workplaces covered under 29 CFR part 1926.



OSHA Directive, CPL 02-01-036 [2002, March 26]

Interim inspection procedures during communication tower construction activities (commonly called “Riding the Line directive”).


American National Standards Institute (ANSI)

A10.4-2007, Personnel Hoists and Employee Elevators on Construction and Demolition Sites

The purpose of this standard is to set forth minimum requirements intended to provide for the safety of life, limb and property of those engaged in occupations requiring the use of personnel hoists or employee elevators. The requirements of this standard are the minimum for that purpose.


A10.32-2012, Fall Protection Systems for Construction and Demolitions Operations

Establishes performance criteria for personal fall protection equipment and systems in construction and demolition, and provides guidelines/recommendations for their use and inspection.


Z359 Version 3.0, Fall Protection Code

There are multiple individual sections for this standard.


Z490.1, Criteria for Accepted Practices in Safety, Health, and Environmental Training

This standard establishes criteria for safety, health, and environmental training programs, including development, delivery, evaluation and program management.


NATE: The Communications Infrastructure Contractors Association

NATE Tower Climber Fall Protection Training Standard

The Fourth Edition of the NATE Tower Climber Fall Protection Training Standard (NATE CTS) was developed to establish the minimum requirements to which all tower technicians should be trained. The NATE CTS outlines individual standards for varying levels of tower technician expertise: Authorized Climber, Competent Climber and Competent Rescuer. NATE is proud to offer this document to the industry to better facilitate training and improve safety.